Spiritual Direction (First Year) [2018-2020]

This is, at its core, a formation programme, fostering a reflective approach to life and noticing God at the heart of it.

During the first year of the course there is a focus on deepening your own spiritual life and prayer experience, furthering your capacity to reflect, developing your listening and communication skills and learning to accompany others. From the second term of the first year, you will accompany two people, under supervision.

Topics covered in the first year include:

  • The scope and limits of the ministry of spiritual direction
  • Personal history and the role of narrative in spiritual direction
  • Development in prayer: Theology & Practice
  • Psychological, Biblical & Theological aspects of spiritual direction
  • Following Christ and the cost of discipleship
  • Introduction to discernment

The programme is interactive, experiential and will engage participants at a personal level. Different methods are employed such as: input; case studies; ‘real’ plays; triads; discussion; guided reading; written reflection; group work and ongoing supervision on a one-to-one basis that continues throughout the two years of the programme.

Diary details
6:00 pm Friday 7 September 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 9 September 2018
6:00 pm Friday 5 October 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 7 October 2018
6:00 pm Friday 2 November 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 4 November 2018
6:00 pm Friday 11 January 2019 to 2:00 pm Sunday 13 January 2019
6:00 pm Friday 8 February 2019 to 2:00 pm Sunday 10 February 2019
6:00 pm Friday 8 March 2019 to 2:00 pm Sunday 10 March 2019
6:00 pm Friday 10 May 2019 to 2:00 pm Sunday 12 May 2019
Cost
Cost includes: 
  • 7 Weekends
    • en suite accommodation
    • full board
  • Tuition
  • Study material
Contact us

Please use our Contact form from the menu above or (01) 833 1352 for more information or to make a booking.