Spiritual Direction (Second Year) [2016-2018]

This is, at its core, a formation programme, fostering a reflective approach to life and noticing God at the heart of it.

During the second year of the course central aspects of spiritual direction are re-visited and deepened with a more specific focus on the Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius of Loyola, on discernment, and on the reflection on your ongoing practice of spiritual direction. The second year is characterised by an integration of learning.

Topics covered in the second year include:

  • The roles of ‘director’ and ‘directee’ in spiritual direction
  • Human frailty and the need of God
  • Understanding the human person & the meaning of Christ’s coming
  • Christ’s call to work for justice and peace
  • Growing in freedom; discerning good choices
  • Contemplative prayer

The programme is interactive, experiential and will engage participants at a personal level. Different methods are employed such as: input; case studies; ‘real’ plays; triads; discussion; guided reading; written reflection; group work and ongoing supervision on a one-to-one basis that continues throughout the two years of the programme.

Diary details
6:00 pm Friday 8 September 2017 to 2:00 pm Sunday 10 September 2017
6:00 pm Friday 6 October 2017 to 2:00 pm Sunday 8 October 2017
6:00 pm Friday 3 November 2017 to 2:00 pm Sunday 5 November 2017
6:00 pm Friday 12 January 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 14 January 2018
6:00 pm Friday 9 February 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 11 February 2018
6:00 pm Friday 9 March 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 11 March 2018
6:00 pm Friday 13 April 2018 to 2:00 pm Sunday 15 April 2018
Contact us

Please use our Contact form from the menu above or (01) 833 1352 for more information or to make a booking.