Spiritual Direction (First Year) [2014-2016]

This is, at its core, a formation programme, fostering a reflective approach to life and noticing God at the heart of it.

During the first year of the course there is a focus on deepening your own spiritual life and prayer experience, furthering your capacity to reflect, developing your listening and communication skills and learning to accompany others. From the second term of the first year, you will accompany two people, under supervision.

Topics covered in the first year include:

  • The scope and limits of the ministry of spiritual direction
  • Personal history and the role of narrative in spiritual direction
  • Development in prayer: Theology & Practice
  • Psychological, Biblical & Theological aspects of spiritual direction
  • Following Christ and the cost of discipleship
  • Introduction to discernment

The programme is interactive, experiential and will engage participants at a personal level. Different methods are employed such as: input; case studies; ‘real’ plays; triads; discussion; guided reading; written reflection; group work and ongoing supervision on a one-to-one basis that continues throughout the two years of the programme.

Diary details
6:00 pm Friday 12 September 2014 to 2:00 pm Sunday 14 September 2014
6:00 pm Friday 17 October 2014 to 2:00 pm Sunday 19 October 2014
6:00 pm Friday 7 November 2014 to 2:00 pm Sunday 9 November 2014
6:00 pm Friday 9 January 2015 to 2:00 pm Sunday 11 January 2015
6:00 pm Friday 6 February 2015 to 2:00 pm Sunday 8 February 2015
6:00 pm Friday 6 March 2015 to 2:00 pm Sunday 8 March 2015
6:00 pm Friday 17 April 2015 to 2:00 pm Sunday 19 April 2015
Contact us

Please use our Contact form from the menu above or (01) 833 1352 for more information or to make a booking.