Diploma Course in the Ministry of Spiritual Direction (First Year )[2012-2014]

(September 2012 enrolment.) This is, at its core, a formation programme, fostering a reflective approach to life and noticing God at the heart of it.

During the first year of the course there is a focus on deepening your own spiritual life and prayer experience, furthering your capacity to reflect, developing your listening and communication skills and learning to accompany others. From the second term of the first year, you will accompany two people, under supervision.

Topics covered in the first year include:

  • The scope and limits of the ministry of spiritual direction
  • Personal history and the role of narrative in spiritual direction
  • Development in prayer: Theology & Practice
  • Psychological, Biblical & Theological aspects of spiritual direction
  • Following Christ and the cost of discipleship
  • Introduction to discernment

The programme is interactive, experiential and will engage participants at a personal level. Different methods are employed such as: input; case studies; ‘real’ plays; triads; discussion; guided reading; written reflection; group work and ongoing supervision on a one-to-one basis that continues throughout the two years of the programme.

Directed by
Diary details
8:00 pm Friday 14 September 2012 to 2:00 pm Sunday 16 September 2012
8:00 pm Friday 12 October 2012 to 2:00 pm Sunday 14 October 2012
8:00 pm Friday 9 November 2012 to 2:00 pm Sunday 11 November 2012
8:00 pm Friday 4 January 2013 to 2:00 pm Sunday 6 January 2013
8:00 pm Friday 8 February 2013 to 2:00 pm Sunday 10 February 2013
8:00 pm Friday 8 March 2013 to 2:00 pm Sunday 10 March 2013
8:00 pm Friday 12 April 2013 to 2:00 pm Sunday 14 April 2013
Contact us

Please use our Contact form or phone (01) 833 1352 for more information or to make a booking.